Time/Money

Time is money.

This is the most ubiquitous, clichéd saying of the capitalist age.

Which one do you value the most?

As I look back at my (albeit short) life, I find that I’ve always valued time over money. I’ve always made the choice to live with a little less money but with a lot more time.

Let me put this in perspective. It’s not that I can’t or don’t want to work–in fact, as I was saying on Twitter some time ago, I’d rather work 60 hours a week doing something I love than 40 doing something I hate. In any case, what I really enjoy is the liberty to control my own schedule. And in the end, I will always feel like I have more time even if I work insane hours.

The Passage of Time

Toni Verdu Carbo on Flickr

Having control of my own schedule means that if I want to take a 4-day weekend and work 12 hours a day for the rest of the week, I can. It means that if I want to take a 2-hour lunch, I can. It means that I can run my errands on weekdays and take naps in the afternoon if I feel like it.

Resource

Time, as someone who’s smarter than me said (it’s Steve Jobs I think), is the most precious resource humans have.

Everyone would love to have more time, but most of us end up squandering a lot of it without really realizing.

Mindlessly watching TV. Spending too much time on social networks. Wilfully wasting time.

If you want more time to do the things that matter to you, are you using the time you do have to achieve those goals? What would you actually do with more time?

Would you use it to make more money? Would you use it for leisure, spending more time with your loved ones, practicing a hobby?

Would you be willing to take a pay cut to have more time for yourself?

How do you balance your need for time with your financial requirements? Share your stories in the comments!

________________________________________________________________________

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe in the upper-right corner, follow my blog on Facebook or get the RSS feed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts, Work

Leave a Reply

