Sober February–One Week In

I still haven’t had alcohol since last Saturday.

Friday I (finally!) had dinner at Cosca, where I resisted the urge to get a glass of wine. I got Perrier instead. I’m quite sad that Dulcinea is gone, but what replaced it is equally delicious!

But this is not a restaurant review.

I don’t have any deep thoughts about alcohol consumption to share with you. I’m enjoying my clear head in the morning and better sleep at night. My body is probably enjoying the lower calorie intake, too!

I’ve also recently started using 750Words as a way to keep up my writing habit. If I can’t keep my writing hours in the morning, at least I can write 750 words every day. It has a points system, monthly challenges and daily emails to keep you motivated. I’m on a 5-day streak!

A daily writing habit can be beneficial for anyone, not just professional writers. What I write in my 750 words is usually stream-of-consciousness, freewriting, but it still helps me see where my head is at at any given moment. I think, I analyze, I reflect, I even pray sometimes.

How do you fuel your writing habit? What are your tools to keep up? Have you tried 750words? What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Personal, Thoughts, Writing

2 responses to “Sober February–One Week In

  1. I haven’t tried it, hadn’t actually heard of it until reading this! But I’ll be checking it out now :-) Congrats on the Feb fast too, if you don’t mind me asking, how much do you normally drink? I like a wine (ok two) most nights and I don’t really like the thought of giving it up but I know it can’t be good for me

    • Anabelle

      I was more of a binge drinker. I wouldn’t drink every day but when I did I drank a lot.

      Let me know how 750words works for you!

Leave a Reply

