Reverb11 Day 6: Laughing With Friends

I’ve only heard about Reverb yesterday, but it’s not too late to get started… so I’m starting on day 6.

In a nutshell, Reverb is a December thing for bloggers where you get a daily prompt. You write the post, share it on Twitter and read other people’s posts with the #Reverb11 tag.

Today’s prompt, received promptly in my email, is: What made you laugh this year?

***

This is my friend Leanne.

Leanne is a super smart, extremely funny but somewhat reserved English PhD student at the University of Alberta. Our friendship must have been fate.

The day I moved to Edmonton, in the brand new UofA graduate residence, I rented a car to go buy all the stuff I needed at Ikea. However, Ikea stuff is heavy, and the parking lot wasn’t quite finished, so I had to carry the heavy bookcase for some distance to my apartment. I asked this random guy, also emptying a car, to help me carry it. He generously accepted to give me a few minutes of his time.

Thing is, this guy wasn’t a student. His girlfriend was, though, and she was an English PhD, and a Victorianist. But we didn’t get to meet that day. We met a few days later, in an orientation meeting for new students to the department. We were in a few of the same classes, too. She lived 4 units away from mine, in the same building.

And so one of the best friendships of my life began.

***

Now you must be asking, what does this story have to do with laughing?

I don’t consider myself an especially funny or witty person. Sometimes I can even be a bit of a smartass, but it’s never on purpose–sometimes the words tumble out of my mouth before I can stop them. But with Leanne, somehow, we would laugh so hard on the way back from the grocery store from exchanging witty repartees. And she’s the only person I’ve ever been able to “repart” with like that.

So this year, what made me laugh are all these wonderful times with this very good friend whom I miss every day, despite sleeping in her old Burnaby room and living with her sister (but that’s another story). We must be on the same intellectual wavelength to be able to have those exchanges which I’ve never really had with anyone else.

My time in Edmonton wasn’t all bad; Leanne made it much better than it could have been. And I hope I made her time better too, even though I left. Hopefully she will come back to Vancouver soon, and we can start laughing together again.

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Reverb11 Day 6: Laughing With Friends

  1. Those are the friendships that make life worth living. Welcome to reverb11 & I look forward to reading more posts!

  2. Pingback: Reverb11 Day 8: This Place | Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

