The Importance of Figuring Out What You Want and Making Goals Out of It

Whoa! Long title.

During the past few days or so I’ve been looking at different continuing education programs in a variety of topics. Of primary interest is BCIT’s new Social Media Marketing certificate, but I’ve also been eyeing the writing programs at SFU.

Ever since I left grad school, choosing what to do has proven to be a difficult task. What jobs do I apply to? What kind of courses should I take? I’m interested in both writing jobs and community management jobs, but I think I’m more attracted to writing.

Then I thought, “what do I really want to do with my life? Write.” And so, the choice becomes easy: I will take courses that will let me expand and improve on my writing skills.

When your desires and needs are clear, your goals become easy to identify. No matter how many times you read it in a book, though, it’s never as obvious as when it happens to you.

Was there a time when you had trouble identifying specific goals? How did you manage to get out of it?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts, Work, Writing

2 responses to “The Importance of Figuring Out What You Want and Making Goals Out of It

  1. Professionally, I help people with goal setting and then creating specific tasks to help them reach those goals. It’s never easy–and if it were, I might be worried we weren’t digging deep enough. My advice is to keep the goals manageable but meaningful and to not be afraid to revise them often! After all, life changes…so can goals.

    • Anabelle

      Too true! I’ve been working with a life coach lately and I always find it difficult to find goals and tasks to go with it since I’ve been so confused about what I want from my life. Week after week my goal has been to “think about what I want, what matters to me”. But now that I’ve figured it out a bit more clearly, it’ll be much easier.

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

