Wines of Chile at Moxie’s

I don’t really blog about this much, but in my spare time, I love to drink wine with my boyfriend watching a good TV show. I’d already covered a wine tasting for Hummingbird604, but I don’t consider myself a wine expert by any stretch of the imagination.

However, with trying a lot of new wines comes a more critical palate. I still can’t use all the wine vocabulary, but I can differentiate a dry wine from a sweeter one and the different kinds of fruit tastes in them. I’m partial to rosé in general, but I’ve been going back to whites lately.

In any case, on November 15th I was invited to a preview of the Vancouver Playhouse International Wine Festival, in collaboration with the Vancouver Social Media Club, at Moxie’s on Robson and featuring a variety of wines from Chile.

I was impressed with the variety of wines featured at the event. There were two focus tables: one about Carmenère wines, a red grape almost exclusive to Chile, the other about Sauvignon Blanc, a Chilean specialty.

I tasted two Carmenère wines and was pleasantly impressed. These red wines were full and fruity with just a hint of sweetness. Carmenère grapes produce some of the darkest wines out there, and these wines go well with red meats and spicy meals (think Mexican or Indian). My favourite was the Santa Rita as it was the sweetest and tasted of dark berries.

DSC06781

But the surprise of the evening, for me, was the fabulous Adobe Chardonnay, made of organic grapes–and a reasonable 15$ at BC Liquor Stores. The wine smelled of peaches and a touch of pear; it was dry and spicy and I think would go along fabulously with white fish, seafood and pastas with white sauces.

DSC06782

I had an amazing evening meeting up with the Vancouver social media mavens and tasting fantastic wines. You can look up some interesting Chilean wines at your local liquor stores or even get tickets for the Vancouver Playhouse International Wine Festival, from February 27th to March 4th 2012, here in Vancouver.

Disclaimer: The food and wine at the event were free. However, I was not expected to write a review nor paid for it or anything of the kind. I’m just repaying the kindness by featuring my favourite finds!

5 Comments

Filed under Events, Reviews

5 responses to “Wines of Chile at Moxie’s

  1. Heather

    I will buy some of that Chardonnay this week-end and try it. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Pingback: Dunn’s Famous in Vancouver | Anabelle's Blog

  3. Pingback: Chilean Wine Seminar Livestream | Anabelle's Blog

  4. Thank you Anabelle! We are so happy that you enjoyed our Adobe Chardonnay, watch out for the rest of the Adobe line as well as our Novas line!!
    Best Wishes,
    The Emiliana Team.

Leave a Reply

