Salman Rushdie’s Twitter Literary Smackdowns

*begin literary geek glee*

I don’t follow a lot of celebrities, but Salman Rushdie is one of my favourite living authors (actually, I don’t read that many living authors. It’s a good thing then that I actually read Midnight’s Children more times than Middlemarch).

So if you follow him on Twitter, you’ll see that he has a daily #literarysmackdown. He’s basically polling Twitter, pitting two similar authors against each other.

In my heart of heart of literary critic I don’t especially like the idea of comparing authors based on really nothing; it’s just a matter of taste, in the end. However, I am absolutely delighted by this occasion to let go of my “I shall not judge authors I have to study” principle. Yes, I love Laurence Sterne and absolutely hate Samuel Richardson. Of course, I think Jane Austen is much more entertaining than Charlotte Bronte.

If you like this kind of thing, then I suggest you follow Salman Rushdie and save a search for the #literarysmackdown hashtag. He’s actually quite good at keeping up and doing it every day!

*end literary geek glee*

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

