The Pomodoro Technique

Have you heard of the Pomodoro technique?

An Italian graduate student came up with it while trying to stay focused on his dissertation throughout the day. He started using a tomato-shaped kitchen timer (or pomodoro) to time 25 minutes of work and a 5-minute break.

I started using this technique last week with a nifty little app that’s also called Pomodoro. Snuck in a corner of your top toolbar, it counts down 25 minutes and then a 5-minute break.

It’s customizable too: you prefer a 20-10 schedule? Go ahead. The program also plans a 25-minute break for every 4 pomodoros.

For those of you who use Things or OmniFocus, Pomodoro can also link to your current tasks. And you can keep yourself accountable by automatically tweeting when you start and finish a pomodoro!

I’ve actually made a lot of progress in my productivity since I started using it. I do much more in a day with the little ticking clock than left to my own devices. I hope it keeps working because I do so much more these days!

1 Comment

Filed under Gadgets and apps, Reviews

One response to “The Pomodoro Technique

  1. I’m a big fan of the Pomodoro Technique and hope to find new ways to use it. I do prefer a mechanical timer rather than a digital one – though I’m not sure why.

    http://billchance.org/2011/08/02/the-idea-pomodoro/

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

