Thanksgiving

I am thankful to simply have a roof over my head and the ability to feed myself. Every day this city reminds me of the privilege of clean clothes, warm food and a bed all my own. I don’t need a phone, a computer or an iPad. I don’t need 20 pairs of shoes and lululemon jackets. I don’t feel guilty that I do own these things, but today I am reminded, again, that I am among the privileged and the lucky.

* * *

Tonight I went to the grocery store for a late comfort snack, and there was a man begging at the door. He says hi in a friendly way and I answer back and walk in the door.

It’s a cold, rainy night and my own feet are chilly from walking outside for 20 seconds. I couldn’t help but but walk out and ask what he’d like to eat.

“Chicken nuggets”, he tells me, almost too shy to look me in the face. But I can see the look in his eyes, like some light suddenly shining through.

There’s wasn’t much left so late in the evening, but they wrapped up some leftovers from the deli counter. I grab a few packs along with some veggies, just to make up some kind of healthy meal.

I don’t know how long it’s been since this man had warm food, but he thanked me profusely, thanked me until I got in the car, almost in tears.

I know buying food for a single man won’t solve the poverty and homelessness problem. I know this is a systemic issue that needs to be addressed at the social level, not the personal.

But at least I know that one man will eat well tonight. I didn’t give out of guilt nor out of pity. I just wanted to share a bit of my luck with someone who might not have had much in his life.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Personal, Thoughts

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Sunday Roundup « Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

