Twitter Fiction: Stories for the Distracted Age?

I’ve already talked about how we live in an age of distraction. Before Twitter, there was postcard fiction; now with the popularity of the 140-character statement comes micro- or nanofiction.

Twitter fiction isn’t new; writers took this new medium early and made it their own. If you follow the hashtag #vss (very short story), then you will notice that there are daily themes and a few stories posted every day. There are other hashtags you can follow, too, but I find I’m happy with the #vss.

I’m not a fiction writer… not yet anyway. But today I made a first foray into twitter fiction based on my post from Friday:

The beating got louder as he walked towards the door and opened it. “Home” he thought as he grabbed the heart and put it in chest. #vss

This idea of a literalized version of the expression “home is where the heart is” has been floating in my mind since I wrote the post, but I don’t think I could have written a longer story about it. So here’s the result: a story that fits in a tweet.

I don’t know if Twitter fiction will gain any literary importance, but it’s a fascinating new form that deserves a more in-depth look.

Stories that can be consumed in a few seconds definitely fit this short attention span era. Do you think microfiction has a future beyond Twitter?

3 Comments

Filed under Thoughts, Writing

3 responses to “Twitter Fiction: Stories for the Distracted Age?

  1. I have just gotten into the whole twitter thing & have not heard of this yet. You have opened a new whole world to me :-)

  2. Pingback: Twitter Story of the Day « Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

