Home Is Where the Heart Is

I know, this is pretty much a cliché, but clichés exist for a reason–they’re often a reflection of a reality that’s so ordinary that people stop thinking about it.

I’ve moved 11 times in the last 10 years, and I know I’m not quite settled yet. I love Vancouver, I love its majesty and the feeling that anything is possible here. I love how it makes me feel young and hip and part of a community.

Vancouver also has its issues: besides being so damn expensive, there’s also a hidden, cutthroat attitude to it. Here, you make it or you’re nobody.

Despite all of that, despite how much attraction I feel to Vancouver, Victoria is more synonymous with “home”. The main reason lies in my SO living there. I only really feel home with him; however crazy, social, amazing my life has become in Vancouver, not being with him makes it all seem… less relevant. Victoria was also my first home in BC and I will always feel more “at home” here.

I’ve been having these fantasies lately, fantasies of moving to a remote cabin somewhere in the Gulf Islands to write. With him. Let go of the need for fashionable clothes and a bus pass and eating in fancy restaurants. I just want to do what I love–writing–with the person I love most.

3 Comments

Filed under British Columbia, Life, Thoughts, Writing

3 responses to “Home Is Where the Heart Is

  1. No matter how my day is going when I get home a part of me just relaxes. I agree cliches exist for a reason!

    • If there’s something I have learned through my years of self-reflection is to know where my home is, and my home is, indeed, where my heart is. I could, with my background, live anywhere in the world. Yet I stay in Vancouver because my heart is here (although right now my heart is having a bit of a change of mind and moving possibly to Paris).

      So I’m not surprised that you feel so at home in Victoria, seeing as your SO is there. And that’s one of the biggest reasons why I pretty much can see you moving back there and making a life in Victoria.

      In spite of how much I enjoy you working for me (and I love hanging out with you too), it’s pretty clear that you feel much more at home in Victoria than in Vancouver. And while that doesn’t mean that you can’t work with me any more it will definitely have an impact on the way we work together.

      The above said, I have always had your best interest at heart, and from where I stand I think your best interest is to find a space and a place for yourself (space and place understood as “where I can feel comfortable and make a living”) in Victoria, and I’ll do whatever I can do to help you achieve that goal. Even if that means we might no longer work together the way we have so far. But you will be in a happier, more secure and more at home place.

      And THAT will make ME very, very happy :)

      • Anabelle

        Paris! French! Awesomeness! If you can, you should totally go…

        And I’m not gone yet. I might not move there any time soon even though it’s where I want to be. I’m not the only party involved in that decision…

        In any case, thanks for your words of friendship and believe that they are reciprocal :)

Leave a Reply

