This Week on TV–Part 1

So if you don’t already know, I watch a lot of TV. Even though I’m more or less keeping to my diet during the week, I catch up on Friday nights and weekends because I can hardly bear to not be up to date when a new week starts.

This post is going to be pretty long because it’s a general overview of the week, but I’ll be a bit more choosy as weeks go and focus on particular shows.

Three of my favourite summer shows are winding down to an end: Alphas, Eureka and Warehouse 13.

Alphas  took a while to get used to, but I’m really starting to get attached to the characters. The storyline arc with Red Flag shows a lot of promise and I’m curious to see more characters crossing between Warehouse 13 and Alphas.

Everyone who watches the show know that Eureka has unfortunately been cancelled. And as much as I enjoy the lighthearted tone and the great chemistry between the actors, I wasn’t as interested in it as I used to be. The mission to Astraeus just seems, I don’t know, trivial. No big enemy to fight anymore, and the secret of their jump to the past is more or less out.

Warehouse 13 remains one of the most interesting sci-fi I’ve seen since Battlestar Galactica. I got in the show while it was in its second season and I’ve developed an interest in the characters. As a Victorianist I love the steampunk aesthetics and how objects don’t need to be alien to be powerful. The new story arc involving Pete’s mother (named Jane, I suppose as a wink to the actress being Janeway from Voyager) and the guy named Sykes who wants to take the Warehouse down seems interesting. I hope it carries on next season.

I don’t watch Hawaii 5-0 with much attention but I’m glad that things have been cleared up and corrected and that the team is now back together. The ending twist was shocking! Let’s see what happens this fall!

I didn’t really like Charlie’s Angels. I don’t know, maybe it’s because the idea of a mysterious man controlling three hot women bothers me. I was bored after 10 minutes. The acting was superficial and the story slim. I didn’t care about the ladies at all, nor did I care about their “mission”. I don’t think I’ll be watching again.

Glee is starting to get on my nerves. Last year’s “theme of the week” structure really lost me and the premiere fell a little flat. Rachel still wants to be a superstar, Finn is still kind of a loser and Quinn’s “transformation” just doesn’t ring true. I think I might give it up this season.

I’d heard some interesting things about New Girl on Twitter this week and the buzz wasn’t wrong: it’s a quirky, funny show that’s well-written and amazingly acted by Zooey Deschanel. I really want to get to know her more and see her navigate the waters of single life!

The Fades is a new British show that also has a supernatural element, although I’m not quite sure what it is. It’s dark and deals with death–those who pass and those who are stuck on Earth. British television takes a bit longer to develop, but it seems promising.

Now if you don’t watch Community yet, you should totally get on that. I’ve been in love with the show since I started watching it. It lost a bit of its steam last year but I have high hopes that it’ll be interesting this year again. This week’s premiere was stranger than usual (and Community is a bit strange most of the time) with references to 2001: A Space Odyssey and a musical number à la Glee as an opener, but I’ve heard between the branches that there might be a Jeff and Annie romantic story this year… stay tuned!

Two new sitcoms caught my eye: Up All Night and Free Agents. Up All Night is about new parents, where the mom is the one working and the dad stays at home. Hilarity ensues as daddy (played by Will Arnett) tries to be a good dad and the mother manages the narcissistic and attention-whory star of the women talk-show she produces. As for Free Agents, what I really like about it is the sharp writing. Happening in the world of PR, where first impressions are paramount, I appreciate the sarcastic “behind the scenes” approach.

Since there are a lot of other shows this week, I’ll write up the rest in a second post for tomorrow. What did you think about the new premieres this week? Anything caught your attention?

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, TV

Leave a Reply

