Creative Mornings Vancouver

So thanks to a connected boss, links on Twitter and my iPhone alarm, I was one of the lucky people to get a ticket to Creative Mornings Vancouver. After uselessly looking for the place on Cordova, I realized that the café was actually on Hastings… yay Vancouver newbie!

There were a LOT of people–the event sold out in less than 4 minutes, a world record for Creative Morning events. Breakfast and coffee were included with this event. Did I mention it was free?

The more I spend time around the Humminbird604 world and the creatives and entrepreneurs in Vancouver, the more I realize that it’s a really, really small world. I saw a bunch of familiar Twitter handles and randomly met Sharon Twiss, who’s a friend of Lois Patterson who always comes with me to plays when I have tickets. Small, small world…

CMVan

Stewart Butterfield at CMVan (iPhone photo, sorry for bad quality)

Random meetings aside, I just want to mention that the food was good and the orange juice was organic.

The guest speaker this morning was Stewart Butterfield, the co-founder of Flickr. His talk focused on the tremendous changes that Internet brought about and how, as humans, we’ve been dealing with it. He put the coming of Internet at the same level as the invention of agriculture or writing. I live tweeted some of his points during the event:

  • Everyone has a camera
  • Our lives are mediated through devices
  • Internet is a biological leap

I have a bit more on a sheet of paper but it definitely stimulated the academic part of me that likes to think long and deep about things. Which leads to my main question, which I now pose to you as well, readers:

In this world of 500-word blog articles and 140-character tweets, do we still find the time to engage deeply with issues, people and things?

That may be the subject of another blog post, or maybe a potential article/research project.

Gosh, I need to go up to SFU and get me access to an academic library…

7 Comments

Filed under Events, Reviews

7 responses to “Creative Mornings Vancouver

  1. Hi Anabelle and thanks for posting about CreativeMornings/Vancouver. You’ve posed an interesting question:

    “In this world of 500-word blog articles and 140-character tweets, do we still find the time to engage deeply with issues, people and things?”

    I don’t look at my blog posts and tweets as an “or” to deep engagement. It’s all part of the same wave. A tweet has led someone to reading a post which resulted in a two hour Skype conversation about leading big systems change. I’m not sure if the challenge is so much finding the time but “what personal practice helps us be open and seize the opportunities for deeper engagement?”.

    Take CreativeMornings/Vancouver as an example. One person could go, say hi to their usual suspects, listen to the talk, and stay in the shallow end of the conversation pool. Another person could go focused on working their curiosity muscle, to talk to people they don’t know about why they are *really* here or what’s the story on the work they want to be doing in the world. Same timespan, different experiences.

    Have you seen Michael Palin’s documentary Himalaya? He has this gift…he meets all sorts of people along his journey and almost never talks about himself (at least in what we see post-editing). He carries a genuine curiosity about the people he meets and asks question after question. It’s something I’m working on in the seemingly insignificant little interactions we have with people in our every day life: Be curious about the person or things I meet. Ask a question or two. Be prepared to be surprised at what I learn or discover.

    Thanks for the mind fodder this beautiful Monday!
    @amandafenton

    • Anabelle

      Interesting thoughts Amanda… yes I suppose it’s a matter of personal practice, but sometimes it feels like twitter and short blog posts encourage only a shallow exploration of topics–coming from my academic background I look for depth and find it only rarely. But when I do, it’s usually amazing :)

      I haven’t, but I will make sure to find it. Thanks for the suggestion!

      • I’m so sad to have missed Stewart’s talk at Creative Mornings. I was looking forward to it, but I was feeling ill.

        As for your question – one of the reasons why I have interns (yes, and you know why I am doing what I do now and separate the Hummingbird604 brand and processes) is that I need time to think through the issues.

        JT and I walked back from Bard on the Beach last night and I told him I was going to try and spend more time talking through my thinking processes on my research questions. I have not really had that time. Real engagement with issues necessitates time investment, and in the world of 140 characters, there’s a lot of superficiality. If we want to engage with deeper issues we need to go beyond the 140 characters. Blog, academic paper, whatever it is, we need long-form engagement.

      • Anabelle

        I know. In one sense it’s great to be free of the academic expectations, but in another sense I miss thinking through things deeply and having my ideas and arguments challenged. I need a new outlet for this, and the blog post isn’t meant for that either.

  2. Pingback: 10 Days of Glitch (review) « Anabelle's Blog

  3. Pingback: Social Media Week Vancouver: Social Media 101 « Anabelle's Blog

  4. Pingback: Creative Mornings Vancouver: Bif Naked « Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

