Finding the best poutine in Vancouver–La Belle Patate

If you don’t already know, I’m looking for the best poutine in Vancouver. Because when I lived in Victoria we used to get our poutine from La Belle Patate in Esquimalt, I decided to pay a visit to its sister restaurant on Davie, in the West End.

It was a quiet Friday and I met two Vancouverites who were having poutine for the first time. I suggested they go with the classic traditional poutine so they could have an idea of what it’s really supposed to taste–I ordered the same.

Poutine at La Belle Patate

Poutine at La Belle Patate

The order did take a while to come, but it was worth it. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Fries: Fresh cut and definitely fresh fried. No frozen stuff here! They had thatdark brown color that I love, and they weren’t crunchy (which I also like in poutine fries).
  • Gravy: It was good but a bit salty and undistinguished. It’s your run-of-the-mill gravy.
  • Cheese: The curds were fresh and squeaky and there was an ample amountof it. I really like when poutine places aren’t too skimpy on the cheese–it’s my favourite part.

The poutine from La Belle Patate definitely fulfilled my craving for poutine that day. It tasted just like the one you get at a Belle Province back home. It didn’t blow my mind, but it was just what I needed.

Score: 7.5/10

La Belle Patate Vancouver
1215 Davie

2 Comments

Filed under Restaurants, Reviews

2 responses to “Finding the best poutine in Vancouver–La Belle Patate

  1. Pingback: Finding the best poutine in Vancouver–Introduction « Anabelle's Blog

  2. Pingback: Finding the Best Poutine in Vancouver — Dunn’s Famous | Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

