Big breasts: A fashion rant

I can’t escape it: I have big boobs. DD cups. It’s a fact of my body that I have to learn to live with every single day, through the shoulder pain from bras and the bouncing and the staring if I wear anything remotely revealing.

Fashion designers and buyers for clothing stores: THINK ABOUT US. Average bra cup size in the US is a D–Canada can’t be that far from that, at the very minimum a C.

Why then, I ask you, are most clothes made to fit B-cup sizes or smaller? Why do the princess seams on blouses and tops only fit women with breasts at most 3-4 inches tall? I can’t buy those tops because the seam ends up in the middle of my chest. I only get a limited amount of choice because my completely natural and normal bra size doesn’t fit with your idea of who should be able to wear your clothes.

Anabelle in Cuba

I have big boobs. It's not as easy as it seems.

Understand my dilemma: I’m not big enough to go to “big girl” type stores, but regular-sized stores can hardly dress me because of my chest. I’m stuck in the middle, having to buy the boring t-shirts and the lose tops because I can’t wear the frilly, the halter, the strapless or the one-shoulder tops (I always, always need to wear a bra with shoulder straps).

I know that women have been calling for a more realistic fashion world for years. My personal rant probably won’t change much, but at least I’m adding my voice to the clamour. Here’s the gist of my issues with fashion these days:

Most women are not the size-0, skinny sticks your clothes are made for. Bebe with the biggest size 10 that’s still like an 8, I’m thinking about you.

Women have curves and breasts, and they won’t all fit in your tights or your lace body suits. American Apparel, I’m thinking about you.

GET RID OF PRINCESS SEAMS. Or put them lower at higher sizes (because God knows a DD-girl will never wear a size 2 top). This applies to absolutely everyone.

Get feedback from real women, not just models. Real women wear your clothes on the street, not models. Again, everyone.

So that’s my Frivolous Friday rant for this week… Sometime it will be happy, I promise :) Next week I’ll review the most expensive bag I ever bought in my entire life… so stay tuned!

So, what are your fashion problems? What would you like clothing retailers to change in how they imagine women’s bodies?

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion, Personal, Rants

One response to “Big breasts: A fashion rant

  1. Pingback: Finding the Right Bra « Anabelle's Blog

Leave a Reply

