On being free

What’s the essence of being free?

Is it freedom à la American, the “possibility” to do anything you want, freedom of speech, freedom to vote?

Or is it actually being given the chance to do whatever you want?

I always thought I was free–I went to excellent schools for 7 years, chose to become an academic and then changed my mind. And yet I don’t think I was free, at least not in the sense of the freedom I have right now.

I understand that only a very few of us ever have the kind of chance that I have right now. I live in the most beautiful city I’ve ever seen, I have an amazing job that will take me everywhere and let me meet a bunch of people and I have enough money to tide me over for a couple of months.

I feel free because I chose this job out of interest, not out of necessity. I feel free because I work from home, on my own time, and make a decent living out of it. I feel free because I have no scholarly or professional commitment beyond the next three months. I feel free because I choose the commitments I make; they are not thrust upon me. I feel free because I can be as responsible or irresponsible as I wish.

I am free because my future is up to me.

Do you feel free? What’s freedom for you?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

2 responses to “On being free

  1. I feel free, and in no small way, thanks to you (and to Jess too!) – it’s rocking working with you!

Leave a Reply

