“Writing”, or, a grad student’s version of “Friday”

If you haven’t heard of “Friday” by Rebecca Black, get out of your black hole and look it up. It’s the worst song in the entire history of music. But its badness inspired me to rewrite it from a PhD student’s point of view. The original idea was to actually film a clip to go with it, but I don’t have the equipment or the knowledge do do this. If you want to take a shot at it, let me know–I at least want the writer’s credits!

 

“Writing”

7 am waking up in the morning

Gotta be awake, gotta get out of bed

Gotta have my mug, gotta have coffee

Seein’ nothing, the time is goin’

Tickin’ on and on, students rushin’

Gotta get down to my office

Gotta meet students, I see my supervisor

Teachin’ in the classroom

Lookin’ in the bookshelves

Gotta make my mind up

Which book do I take?

 

I’m writing, writing

Gotta get down to writing

Everybody’s lookin’ forward to my chapter, chapter

Writing, writing

Getting down to writing

Everybody’s looking forward to my chapter

Teaching, teaching (ugh)

Writing, writing (ugh)

Read, read, read, read

Looking forward to my defense

 

7:45 we’re typing down our argument

Typing so fast, I wish time would fly

Fun, fun, think about fun

Don’t know what it is

I grade this, you grade this

My stack is by my right

I grade this, you grade this

They don’t know it

Teachin’ in the classroom

Lookin’ in the bookshelves

Gotta make my mind up

Which book do I take?

 

I’m writing, writing

Gotta get down to writing

Everybody’s lookin’ forward to my chapter, chapter

Writing, writing

Getting down to writing

Everybody’s looking forward to my chapter

Teaching, teaching (ugh)

Writing, writing (ugh)

Read, read, read, read

Looking forward to my defense

 

Yesterday was teaching, teaching

Today is research, research (writing)

We-we-we so depressed

We so depressed

We wrote a page today

Tomorrow is grading

And teaching comes afterwards

God I want this PhD to end

 

PhD, un’versity

So teaching in the classroom (in the classroom)

In the office (in the office)

I’m writing, sweating (ugh ugh)

Lots of lines, reading lines

Wit’ a student in a chair (what?)

(C’mon) Passin’ grade is what he wants for his essay

Says blah blah, blah blah, wanna scream

Check my time, it’s teaching, it’s a class day

We gonna teach things, c’mon, c’mon y’all

 

I’m writing, writing

Gotta get down to writing

Everybody’s lookin’ forward to my chapter, chapter

Writing, writing

Getting down to writing

Everybody’s looking forward to my chapter

Teaching, teaching (ugh)

Writing, writing (ugh)

Read, read, read, read

Looking forward to my defense

I’m writing, writing

Gotta get down to writing

Everybody’s lookin’ forward to my chapter, chapter

Writing, writing

Getting down to writing

Everybody’s looking forward to my chapter

Teaching, teaching (ugh)

Writing, writing (ugh)

Read, read, read, read

Looking forward to my defense

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

