Mon pays ce n’est pas mon pays, c’est l’enfer

Sometimes when I tell people that I don’t want to go live back home, they wonder why. Montréal is such a nice city, they say. Of course it is, I don’t deny that. It’s when I fall upon or hear news like this one that I feel my desire to stay away justified.

Louise Beaudoin declares that “multiculturalism is a Canadian value, not a Québec one.” How am I supposed to feel about this ostentatiously racist comment, which implies a desire for social and cultural homogeneity that I cannot support in any way? Why, I wonder, do we still hold on to the idea that we can live our life oblivious to the way the world works today, or even worse, consciously resist it?

As an anglophone commenter on the La Press website says, please keep Bill 101. If you take it away, then francos will learn English and then we anglos will lose our edge in the job market. Please, keep Bill 101 so francos can be kept down into unimportant jobs that don’t require English. Please, keep Bill 101 so francos can remain on the lower scale of the social ladder. Yes, please keep Bill 101 to keep ourselves entrenched into poverty and insignificance. Please, keep Bill 101 so we can bash on those who refuse to be assimilated. Because doing to others what was attempted on us (and failed) is obviously going to work, because we are more justified.

I don’t want to go back, because this political atmosphere is suffocating. Mon pays, ce n’est pas mon pays, c’est l’enfer. And however much of a “traitor” I may seem to some, I’d rather live in the Anglo-Canadian purgatory than in Québec hell. None of it is heaven, but at least there’s a way out of purgatory.

As Dante wrote at the Gates of Hell: “Abandon all hope all ye who enter here.”

(P.S.: I’m not commenting especially on the kirpan problem–that’s a whole another piece of tangled issues that I don’t feel can deal with. I’m just frustrated with the general aura of racism that it implies, despite the fact that this was a decision based on security. (However, it must be known that the kirpan can be worn at the Canadian parliament as well as the Supreme court.))

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

