Hooking up with crochet

While waiting for my KnitPicks order to arrive (two sets of needles–straights and circulars! blocking material!), I decided to learn crocheting.

It’s actually pretty easy, and with the help of my Dummies book as well as Coralie from the Bitchy Bees, I got a grip on it pretty fast. I’m currently working on a scarf (more yarn! yay!), and it looks very nice. It’s going to be more of a show-off scarf than an actual get-warm scarf, since it’s pretty holey. I’ll post pictures, as usual, when I’m done.

Crocheting is definitely slower than knitting, but it’s more versatile I feel. You can go in a number of directions, which knitting doesn’t allow. I like it, and I like that knowing both will let me do more things than just one or the other.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Personal

Leave a Reply

