Ernest Gellner, nationalism and the peasant in literature, or, I have no idea what I’m talking about

One last paper to go, that I have procrastinated on long enough. The goal: 9 single-spaced pages.

Here is the question I am asking: Why is peasant literature such a prominent feature of rising nationalistic cultures, and how has it achieved or failed in this mystery mission?

See how excited I feel about the topic? Yaaay. I’ve got a bunch of disparate sources, about French, Caribbean, Indian and Irish literature, and I will probably add some of Québec lit as well (never thought my cegep Québec lit class would ever come in handy). Hopefully I can make something intelligible out of this mess. The paper is worth 70% of my grade.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

